自己紹介しましょう!

We are a research group from the University of Calgary studying at Senshu University for a group study. We have chosen to focus our research on the various foods of Japan.

We have chosen the topic of food because we are interested in the difference between Canadian and Japanese food. Another reason is that food is an integral part of culture, to gain a deeper understanding of the Japanese culture we’ll dive into the world famous culinary experience of Japan!

Our group is made up of four individuals, who will bring you four unique view points on Japanese food. Our members include;

I am Adrian and I am a third-year computer science, concentrating in Game Development. I plan to eventually work for a game development company, particularly in the field of computer graphics rendering. Ever since I was a child, I have always wanted to visit Japan. I have not eaten meat in three years, and this coming month, I am anxiously anticipating trying out vegetarian cuisine in Japan!

My name is Jacob and I’m a second-year computer science student concentrating in Information Security, with a minor in Japanese. My hope is to one day live and work in Japan, and so I have been studying the language for the past 2 years. I’m most excited for the opportunity to improve my spoken Japanese and develop friendships with the locals, in addition to eating lots of ramen!

My name is Charlette and I’m a third-year linguistics and language student concentrating in the Japanese language. In the future I plan to teach English in Japan, so this group study program is a great opportunity for me to become accustomed to the Japanese culture. I am most looking forward to experiencing the various street food that can be found in Japan.

Hello! My name is Andrew, I am a third-year business student with a concentration in accounting. My brother is an accountant working for a major international accounting firm; I am hoping to enter the work force at the same firm and eventually work my way towards a transfer to the Tokyo branch. I am currently completing a minor in Japanese and will be using this group study as credit towards my minor. I am excited for the upcoming opportunity to travel to Japan and am eagerly awaiting the deserts of the far east.

We fly out for Japan on May 9th, look forward to our future blog posts! You can expect our next post before May, 14th.

よろしくお願いします。

Leave a comment